Biblical Reflections: Job 37:23

Job 37:23 – Touching the Almighty, we cannot find him out: he is excellent in power, and in judgment, and in plenty of justice: he will not afflict.

The Spirit is quite a mystery.   It appears  that we know very little about the Almighty.  Sure we know He is creative and powerful by the beauty and wonder of the natural world around us.  Regardless of these revelations, His ways are beyond our grasp in the complete sense.

Even Jesus’ closest disciples could not fully understand these mysteries.  For instance, on one occasion Philip made it very clear that he did not understand.  Jesus said, “If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him. Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us. Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then , Shew us the Father?  Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works. Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake” (John 14:7-11).

Jesus admonished His disciples to believe, to exercise their God-given faith by trusting in Him as the Son of God.  I encourage you to trust Him today also, and you will see like Philip that He is the way, the truth, the life for you as well.

Leave a Reply

