Hear The Word Of The Lord – Hosea 4:1

Hosea 4:1 – Hear the word of the Lord , ye children of Israel: for the Lord hath a controversy with the inhabitants of the land, because there is no truth, nor mercy, nor knowledge of God in the land.

When I was a boy, my father tried to teach me how to listen. One day on the farm, we were walking out in the woods. As usual, I was talking when suddenly he stopped and said, “Sshhhhh. Do you hear that?”

I stopped as well and tried to listen. All I heard was the breeze and maybe a bird chittering in the distance. I said, “What is it?”

He said, “Just listen.”

I tried to hear something, but my patience was nearly nonexistent. I said, “I don’t hear anything.”

And he replied, “Exactly. It is quiet.”

Of course, part of this exchange was to hush me for a moment. However, I also learned that one of the most important lessons we can grasp is the value of listening, hearing the world around us.

You may have noticed that we humans are categorically bad listeners.  If something does not interest us, we often just check out.  Our inability to listen or hear others is well documented in the Bible. Even though the Lord admonished the Israelites to listen for their own good, they so often refused.

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes: but he that hearkeneth unto counsel is wise” (Proverbs 12:15). So which do you want to be? A wise man or a fool?

Leave a Reply

