Revealer of Secrets – Daniel 2:47

Daniel 2:47 The king answered unto Daniel, and said, Of a truth it is, that your God is a God of gods, and a Lord of kings, and a revealer of secrets, seeing thou couldest reveal this secret.

[CAUTION: The following story is real and should not be imitated. Severe risk of personal and property damage can result from irresponsible use of fire.]

When I was a boy I was utterly fascinated with fire. Despite the obvious danger, I loved to build fires and watch things burn. Thankfully this obsession was largely tamed after the following events…

Following a day of watching my father and uncle hunting, I discovered gunpowder. A short time later, I set about making myself a small cache of the stuff using several shotgun shells that I pilfered from my father. After cutting open the shells and pouring the black powder onto a piece of paper, I folded up the paper and taped it closed being sure not to lose any of the precious powder.

Now, knowing that I was not supposed to play with gunpowder, I could not experiment in sight of anyone for fear of discovery. So, being a genius, I decided to burn this little incendiary device in my small closet beneath my hanging clothes on the top of a cardboard box. After some trouble igniting the paper wrapper in the dark, the resulting fountain of flame miraculously did not burn my clothes or the box. However, my face was burned and my left eyebrow was burned almost completely off.

My attempts to cool the burn was unsuccessful, and I was rushed to the emergency room and treated for the burns. I thank God that there was no permanent damage to myself or our home, and I never again played with gunpowder. I have often referred to these events in sermons to highlight a point: No effort to hide our sins or shelter them will succeed.

As this passage from Daniel demonstrates, God sees all things. He knows those things before they occur in time. There is no reasonable question that God cannot answer. There is nothing secret from Him. “For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil” (Ecclesiastes 12:14).

Praise God for the salvation of Jesus Christ knowing that by grace we are ultimately saved. Despite our failed secrets, God loves us, and He is rushing us to the emergency room even in light of our foolishness.

Leave a Reply

