My Sheep – John 10:27-30

John 10:27-30 – My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:  And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.  My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.  I and my Father are one.

There are many promises in the Bible.  Many of them are conditional upon our behavior and others are unconditional by reason of necessity.  For instance, the law delivered to Moses contained many statutes that were stated in conditional terms. In fact, Moses said,
“Now therefore hearken, O Israel, unto the statutes and unto the judgments, which I teach you, for to do them, that ye may live, and go in and possess the land which the Lord God of your fathers giveth you” (Deuteronomy 4:1). Still other instances demonstrated God’s unconditional love. Abraham is a great example of this reality, because to him God said, “…behold, my covenant is with thee, and thou shalt be a father of many nations (Genesis 17:4).

In the New Testament Jesus is called the mediator of a new covenant superior to the old. Through this testament of grace, Jesus’ sealed the redemption of His people by sacrificing Himself. As the Good Shepherd, Jesus gave His precious life to save His sheep. Could He have done this in vain? Was there anything left to chance? No, and no.

Because the Spirit makes way for the Good News of salvation to be heard by His children, God’s message of love, peace and salvation can be and will be heard by His people. We may resist, but ultimately His will shall be done. Praise God that we cannot mess it up and that is good news.

Leave a Reply

