Hear My Voice, O God – Psalm 64:1

Psalm 64:1 – Hear my voice, O God, in my prayer: preserve my life from fear of the enemy.

Who among us has not experienced fear?  I do not mean an appropriate fear of the Lord.  I mean the kind of terror that hinders our witness of the Joy we should exhibit from the Lord.  It is human to fear, but it is Christlike to conquer that fear.

Therefore, like Christ we should call upon God the Father to deliver us from debilitating fear that we may run the race set before us.  Knowing that the Lord loves His children, we can hold on to Him even in the shadow of death, because our Father knows best.  We may yet experience anxiety, but we can go to Him in prayer saying, “Let not my will but yours be done.” 

How do we make it through the valley full of terrors?  We do it one step at a time, “holding forth the Word of Life” in a crooked and perverse world (Philippians 2:15-16).

One comment

  1. […] Hear My Voice, O God – Psalm 64:1 (northsidepbc.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

