Our Abode – John 14:23

John 14:23 – Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

There are unnumbered television shows concerning home construction, renovation, and decorating as well as dream destinations and vacation homes. Why? Because we are convinced that there is a perfect place for us.

Watching these programs, perhaps we imagine ourselves at ease lounging surrounded by a comforting environment specially made to our tastes and preferences. In reality, keeping a home is hard work. There are floors to clean, clothes to wash, light bulbs to replace, meals to cook ans dishes to clean, paint to renew, and all manner of maintenance tasks that require attention not to mention all the effort and expense of fixing things that break in the normal course of life.

The reality of home ownership is far more indicative of our daily walk with God than any vacation spot. When we work to be devoted to Him, we enjoy His presence. Jesus said, “As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full” (John 15:9-11).

Imagine Jesus as your roommate. Now stop imagining. He already is.

Leave a Reply

