As A Little Child – Luke 18:17

Luke 18:17 – Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child shall in no wise enter therein.

Most days I would love to be a kid again.  I was blessed with a great childhood.  We were not wealthy, but I was never hungry, and I really had everything to make me happy.  When I was not playing with my friends at school, I was playing with them in the neighborhood.  When I was not in the neighborhood, I was at my grandmother’s house or at my other grandparents’ farm.  I got muddy in the creek.  I road a million miles on my bike around our small town, and I played basketball wherever there was a goal.  I chased June Bugs in the summer and threw snowballs in the wintertime.  All in all, it was great.  

I know that many children are deprived of family, home, or other basic needs, and my heart hurts for them.  But for most of the rest of us I have ask, Why is childhood often so great?   I think the answer is simple.   Children are not overly complicated.  Their needs and wants are usually simple and simply met.  

We adults think we have improved on childhood with our careers and dreams of more expensive homes and new things.  To a child, a dry safe place is enough, and everything is new to them.  To adults, worry is commonplace, while children trust their parents and grandparents to meet their needs, and they know who to ask.  Children have few dreams of self sufficiency.   

While, I am fully aware that child also have childish fears and ideas, and we are to strive for spiritual maturity, I am also very aware of the fact that adulthood can breed conceit.  Conceit becomes most readily apparent in our teenage years, when we are trying to become adults.  It is conceit that causes us to doubt the wisdom of our elders and look down on others younger and less experienced.  We should have spiritual maturity without “worldly maturity.”

Jesus Christ was and is the most mature and wise Person in existence.   However, Jesus was humble and meek.  Even though, He is the Incarnate Word of God, He prayed to the Father for comfort and counsel.   Even though He is the Lord of Lords, He did not flaunt His position.  Even though He was indeed holy, perfect, and completely righteous, He applied compassion and sympathy instead if condemnation to those who approached Him in faith.   

What about us?  Do we pray to the Father who knows all the hairs on our head?  Are we gentle and humble like a child?  Do we see others as beneath us, or do we see others as fellow pilgrims?  If not we can look to Christ for our example.  He is the author and finisher of our faith.  Because of Jesus, we can hope in eternal life.  “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17).

Remember to be a kid today.   Jesus said so.  You will always be a child from His perspective. 

Leave a Reply

