The Bond of Perfectness – Colossians 3:14

Colossians 3:14 – And above all these things put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness.

When asked what was the greatest of the commandments in the Law, Jesus said that first was love of God with all our being, and similarly love of neighbors was a near second. The Savior went on to explain that the rest of the Law as well as any further clarifications by the prophets depended upon these two commands.  

Love or “charity” as it is translated above is easily the most important commandment in God’s Word.  Love is the goal, the highest point we can reach.  The Apostle Paul says that love is the ultimate moral and spiritual achievement, “the bond of perfectness.”  While I often think of love as a starting point, it is also the destination.  As with most things, we must put love first to reach it in the end.  

Thank heavens that while perfect love (like that of Christ) is the goal, but even imperfect, immature love is beneficial.  For example, as a child, my love for my siblings, parents and even friends tended to be self serving.  However, as I have matured, my ability to truly care for others without wishing much in return has greatly improved.  I no longer pitch a fit if I am not fed on time or if someone will not hold me or if my toys are not available to me.  My joy is not predicated exclusively on the actions of others.  “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things” (1 Corinthians 13:11).

Looking at the life of Jesus, He always put others first.  If no one else was available, He always deferred to the will of the Father.   We are most blessed when we can also follow this path.  Doing so gives us purpose and glorifies the entire relationship between us, God, and others.  A spirit of love makes obedience not merely tolerable but joyous.  Because of Love, Jesus endured the Cross and rose again and ascended to reign beside the Father.  I guess love really does conquer all.  

Leave a Reply

