I Shall Not Die – Psalm 118:17

I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord. ​- Psalm 118:17

Meditation: Do you trust in Jesus Christ?  If so, then I have a poorly kept secret for you.  You are immortal, or at least death has no sting for you.  You will live on and on and on despite the weaknesses of this body.  

This one of the great promises of the the Gospels and the whole New Testament.  “Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him:  Knowing that Christ being raised from the dead dieth no more; death hath no more dominion over him” (Romans 6:8-9).  Death is an obstacle not an end.  Like the grain that dies to make the tree, our bodies will be given up to gain something far more magnificent. 

The Apostle Paul also said, “According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.  For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain” (Philippians 1:20-21).  Therefore, while we are here today, we should serve the Lord through the bodies we have looking forward, reaching for the high calling of God knowing that this bodies limitations are temporary.  Death cannot limit eternal life.

Call to Action:  Place your fingers upon your wrist, and feel you pulse.  One day that pulse will stop.  What happens then?  I do not know precisely, but I do know we will be changed.  My mortal life will cease as my immortal life is fulfilled.  Think about it, and you might realize that today’s problems are short-lived.    

Leave a Reply

