Open My Eyes – Psalm 119:18

Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law. – Psalm 119:18

Meditation:  Many years ago when I was a boy I sat in a huge pile of sand used during an expansion of my grandfather’s barn.  As I sat in the sand, I would throw it up into the air in handfuls watching it cascade down.  As the work around me continued, I played and played oblivious to the danger of my actions until the sand came down into my open eyes.  I was immediately blinded by pain, tears and confusion. 

Someone scooped me up and carried me to the house to flush out the sand and see about me.  All I remember of those passing events is more pain and tears accompanied by darkness.  Any attempt to open my horribly scratched eyes was beyond painful.  Light itself was my enemy.  Finally I found rest on the sofa in the dark where I spent the rest of the day and night.  The next day someone awoke me, and for the first time in nearly 24 hours I opened my tender eyes.  I was so glad to be able to see.

Likewise, like foolish children playing with sand, we blind ourselves to the beauty of God and His Word through sin and error.  While He never moves, our actions put relational distance between us and Him.  Thank God that He listens to the penitent.  When the Spirit opens our sin damaged eyes to the Truth, so often it results in tears of joy mixed with regret.  This is the beginning of repentance and conversion from our old self.  

When we arise that day, after untold time in the darkness, God’s Word is a balm to our tender eyes unaccustomed to the Light.  What was once painful to look upon becomes a blessing.  I thank the Lord that He has given me sight.  Will you praise the Lord with me for your eyes?

Call to Action:
  Consider all the blessings that sight affords.  So many things are taken for granted by those that have eyes to see.  Praise God for your eyes and especially for the spiritual sight to recognize His presence and truth.

Leave a Reply

