Pure In Heart – Matthew 5:8

Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God. – Matthew 5:8

Meditation:  When I consider the beatitude above, I wonder, how can I be pure in heart?  I have sinned, and I am often tempted like other men.  Then I consider the Apostles and other godly saints of the Scriptures.  They were regular people like me, and yet they found purity.  How did they do it?

Before I go further, let me highlight some verses that challenge the common notion that the human heart is innately good.  “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it”(Ezekiel 36:22-27)?  “Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin” (Proverbs 20:9)?  “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23).  So, how can my heart be pure?

“Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.  With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments” (Psalm 119:9-10).  “Who shall ascend into the hill of the Lord? or who shall stand in his holy place?  He that hath clean hands, and a pure heart; who hath not lifted up his soul unto vanity, nor sworn deceitfully.  He shall receive the blessing from the Lord, and righteousness from the God of his salvation” (Psalm 24:3-5).

So taking need to the Word of God and seeking after God are the “secrets” to purifying the heart.  Like water through a filter purified of impurities, the heart of the Child of God is purified by the reading and application of His teachings.  Let us then seek the Lord, His Kingdom, and His Righteousness striving for holiness not entangled with the temptations of this present world.  As a wise man once said, “Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life” (Proverbs 4:23).

Call To Action:  Read Ephesians 5:25-27 and consider this admonishment by the  Apostle in light of Ezekiel 36:26-27.  Now give thanks to God our Father for giving us a new heart to seek after Him knowing that without Him, we would yet be lost in hard hearted rebellion against our Maker.

Therefore, “Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned love of the brethren, see that ye love one another with a pure heart fervently: Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever” (1 Peter 1:22-23).  Amen.

Leave a Reply

