Confession Is good For the Soul – ​1 John 1:9

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. – ​1 John 1:9

Meditation:  When I considered today’s passages, I sighed in realization that my Savior is better than I can imagine.  He loves me and cares for me despite my failings.  He lifts me up when I fall and guides me as I seek His way.  Most of all, He forgives me and died to bring me into the fold of heaven.
I readily (though shamefully) admit that I have sinned, and I need redemption.  I suspect that I will likely sin again and need redemption.  Like the Apostle John, my sins are covered by the blood of Christ.  He has separated me from my transgressions as far as the east is from the west (Psalm 103:12).  Blessed be His name!

One thing I know from experience is that confession reconnects us with the will of God and returns us to fellowship with God (Psalm 51).  The joy of salvation returns to His people only through confession and repentance.  We are called to holiness and confession is the vehicle.  

Call To Action:  Let us follow the admonition of the Apostle.  Confess your sins and draw nigh to your Savior.  He died to make your salvation sure.  Praise the the Lord!  Praise him with your heart and turn to Him.  Turn always back to Him. 

Leave a Reply

