Walk after the Lord – Deuteronomy 13:4

Ye shall walk after the Lord your God, and fear him, and keep his commandments, and obey his voice, and ye shall serve him, and cleave unto him. – Deuteronomy 13:4

Meditation:  I used to enjoy following my dad around my grandfather’s farm and to the store and elsewhere as a youth.  When I was doing well and helping him around the house with projects, I found sweet fellowship.  In retrospect he did not need my help.  He could have done all these things without me, but He enjoyed my company.
Early on, I learned to respect my parents authority, and my father enforced that respect and did not tolerate disrespect of himself or my mother.  Why?  Because obediences leads to joy.  It is not mindless subservience but rather conscious humble submission that is the hallmark of a right spirit.  Obedient children are more joyful, obedient students learn better, and obedient employees are more profitable.  

Again obedience does not mean we bow without regard to every command, but we seek the betterment of someone else all the time and derive joy from that effort.  Our Heaven Father desires His children to examine the Word to be good stewards of His blessings.  “Let a man so account of us, as of the ministers of Christ, and stewards of the mysteries of God.  Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful” (1 Corinthians 4:1-2).

Call To Action:  Read Hebrews 4:14-16.  Remember that you can approach our Most Holy God by that grace whereby we also call Him, Father (Romans 8:15).  Draw close to your Father today and enjoy His company as child that seeks to bring Him joy.

Leave a Reply

