Hold Me Up! – Psalm 17:5

Hold up my goings in thy paths, that my footsteps slip not. – Psalm 17:5

Meditation:  Where would we be without God?  It would be no place good for sure considering the natural bent of people to selfish indulgence.  We need help, but do we have the strength?  No, we need salvation from ourselves daily and forever.  Praise the Lord for His compassions fail not (Lamentations 3:22).
The psalmist understood his need for the Lord as ongoing and perpetual.  He cried out to God to hold him up and keep his feet upon the path of righteous.  We too need such help.   We need the Lord to maintain pur way as we seek Him.  We cannot do it ourselves.  

“Blessed be the Lord, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications.  The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him” (Psalm 28:6-7).  Not only is the Lord our but only hope, He is willing and able to deliver those who trust in Him.
Call To Action:  Hold on to the promise of deliverance.  If you wait, realize that you are waiting on the Lord.  He has not forgotten you.  The U.S. purpose in ypur suffering.  “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance” (2 Peter 3:9).

Leave a Reply

