At The Door – Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. – Revelation 3:20

Meditation:  Brothers and sisters, I acknowledge that the book of Revelation is often one of the most controversial portions of the Bible.  Its imagery and provocative message are often abused and used more for entertainment than edification.  Thankfully today’s message is actually much simpler and straightforward:  Open the door, Jesus is knocking.

So many times we act as if Jesus Christ does not matter.  If He is not real or present, then we do not need to be concerned about His perspective, commandments, or judgement.  If no Supreme Lord oversees creation, then sin is just a word, and truth is merely a fanciful notion.  On the contrary, reason requires truth about reality, and truth requires objective absolutes.  Where do absolute truths come from if not an eternal unchanging source.  

Jesus Christ put forth that He, as part of the Godhead, is the eternal unchanging source of Truth.  When questioned about His authority, Jesus said to those who disputed with Him, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am” (John 8:58).  For this statement they sought to stone Him.  Why?  Because in calling Himself I am, the Lord equated Himself with Jehovah as revealed to Moses in Exodus 3:13-15.   

Furthermore, Christ stated to Pontius Pilate, “To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth. Every one that is of the truth heareth my voice” (John 18:37)  So if you believe in Jesus, then you must believe in truth.

Now when you consider that He, the I AM, says that He is knocking, should you answer the door?  YES!!  You should  definitely answer the door.  Why are we even making Him knock?   Shouldn’t we be waiting at an open door for Him? 

Call To Action:  Listen for Jesus knocking today, and go open the door.  Go to His Word, and Go to Him in prayer.  Welcome His truth into your life, into your home, and into your work.  Sit down with Him and take Him with you.  He is your King.  He is your Savior. 

Leave a comment