A Mouth like a Sharp Sword

Listen, O isles, unto me; and hearken, ye people, from far; The LORD hath called me from the womb; from the bowels of my mother hath he made mention of my name. And he hath made my mouth like a sharp sword; in the shadow of his hand hath he hid me, and made me a polished shaft; in his quiver hath he hid me; And said unto me, Thou art my servant, O Israel, in whom I will be glorified. – Isaiah 49:1-3

Have you ever read God’s Word and been convicted of sin? If not, keep reading. The Word of God is “quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12). It pierces the mind and cuts away our pretenses. It shows us the truth about us that we fear and avoid. It lay bare the reality of our actions. It is no surprise that Jesus Christ, the living Word of God, stirred up people. No man ever spoke like this man. He is the Truth.

O earth, earth, earth, hear the word of the LORD. – Jeremiah 22:29

Leave a comment